Dave O'Higgins Quartet

SOLD OUT - Dave O'Higgins Quartet

Monday 28th April 2014
Date: Monday 28th April

Ticket Prices: £10.00 - £10.00

Event has now past
Tell a Friend Add to Favourites


Monday 28th April 2014

Doors open time

First House

Ticket Prices:

£10.00 - £10.00


Dave O'Higgins Quartet

Latest News

Membership to Ronnie Scott's

Twitter Feed

Dave O'Higgins Quartet

We have now sold out of our pre-allocation, you can still get tickets on the door - simply show up at doors open time.

“A stunning player in the neo-bop vein, with an apparently effortless flow of coherent ideas, beautiful time and a highly developed harmonic sense.” JAZZ GUIDEPhil Dwyer (Sax) USA

Robin Asplan (piano)
Adam King (bass)
Matt Home (Drums)


Dave is a popular & well known figure on the international jazz scene, having recorded 14 albums as leader with various lineups. He cut his teeth with NYJO, Cleo Laine, Roadside Picnic and Mezzoforte and went on to work with Jim Mullen, Ray Charles, Martin Taylor, Itchy Fingers, Frank Sinatra, Salif Keita, Jimmy Smith, Joe Locke, Kyle Eastwood, Jamie Cullum, Stan Tracey, Matthew Herbert, Chico Chagas and the BBC Big Band to name only a few.

Dave has just recorded a new cd, Standards (JVG Productions) due for release Feb 2014. The tunes are instrumental versions of some of the Sinatra repertoire, of which Dave had first hand experience playing in his band at the last London shows in May 1992.

2013’s critically acclaimed CD release, Got The Real Note (Jazzizit) by the Gascoyne/O’Higgins Quartet with Sebastiaan de Krom on drums, Graham Harvey on piano and co-led with bassist, Geoff Gascoyne comprises a selection of “contrafacts” (new tunes written to changes of favourite standards) and the CD was recorded, mixed and mastered at Dave’s new specialist jazz recording studio (JVG). “Real Note Vol 2” is due out March 2014 and the band will be on tour in April and May.

Another recent collaborative project - The Two Minds Big Band, is co-led with long time associate, Pete Wraight. Pete has been the MD an arranger of Matthew Herbert’s Big Band for 10 years, and this had been a project under discussion for a while. The Two Minds Big Band (JVG Productions) is an album of originals - 5 tunes written and arranged by each leader with the same title as it’s inspiration.

Dave has recorded two CDs with US sax legend, Eric Alexander. These are 2-tenors and piano trio (led by Danish drummer, Kristian Leth) in the hard blowing time honoured tradition of Griff/Lockjaw, Stitt/Ammons and Hayes/Scott.

He also teaches saxophone, harmony and improvisation at the London Centre for Contemporary Music, benefitting swathes of up and coming young musicians with his experience!

In his home city, London, Dave is a regular guest with the house band at Ronnie Scott’s and plays every month at the 606 Club in Chelsea with his quartet.

To celebrate Dave Brubeck’s  90th birthday Dave teamed up with Darius (piano), Chris (bass & trombone) and Dan Brubeck (drums) and toured as Brubecks Play Brubeck in the UK. The tour proved immensely popular. Since Dave Brubeck passed last year this is the “official” legacy band and will be playing in New York at Dizzy’s, Lincoln Centre, in April 2014.

Solo Albums

All Good Things (EFZ), Beats Working For A Living (recorded in New York and featuring Joey Calderazzo on piano) (EFZ), Under The Stone (EFZ), The Secret Ingredient (EFZ), The Grinder’s Monkey (Short Fuse), Big Shake Up by Dave O’Higgins’ Biggish Band (Big City), Fast Foot Shuffle (Candid), Push (Short Fuse) In the Zone (Jazzizit), Sketch Book (with Eric Alexander)(Jazzizit), Relaxin’ At Mount Lavinia (JVG Productions),  The Devil’s Interval (with Eric Alexander)(JVG Productions), Got The Real Note (Jazzizit) with the Gascoyne/O’Higgins Quartet, The Two Minds Big Band (JVG Productions),  Standards (JVG Productions) due Feb 2014, Real Note Vol 2 (Jazzizit) with the Gascoyne/O’Higgins Quartet, due April 2014

Other essential recordings

Jason Rebello: A Clearer View (BMG) produced by Wayne Shorter,

Roadside Picnic: Roadside Picnic (BMG), For Madmen Only (BMG)

Itchy Fingers: Full English Breakfast (Enja)

Jim Mullen: Soundbites (EFZ), Rule of Thumb (EFZ)

Clark Tracey Sextet: Full Speed Sideways (33)

Martin Taylor: Spirit of Django (Linn), Years Apart (Linn), The Gypsy (Linn),

Celebrating Grapelli (Linn)

Matthew Herbert: Goodbye Swingtime (Accidental Records), There’s Me and There’s You (K7/Accidental Records)

Jamie Cullum: Pointless Nostalgic (Candid)    

Countries toured

Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, China, Cuba, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Holland, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Lithuania, Latvia, Malta, Mexico, Namibia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, UK, Ukraine, USA, Venezuela

We want to hear from you

Tell us what you think of Dave O'Higgins Quartet below..

Date: Monday 28th April

Ticket Prices: £10.00 - £10.00

Twitter Facebook
Copyright © 2015 Ronnie Scott's, All Rights Reserved.

PRIVACY & COOKIES | Website Terms of Use | Ticket and Admission Terms

Registered in England No. 1590762.
Registered Address: Palm Glen Ltd, Park House, 26 North End Road, London NW11 7PT
Copyright © 2015 Ronnie Scott's, All Rights Reserved.

View Full Site

Copyright © 2015 Ronnie Scott's, All Rights Reserved.